top of page

Portability

If I'm going somewhere that I might paint, I don't want to spend hours packing gear, so I spend more time than I should collecting painting travel packs. That does not presuppose that I am actually "painting mobile." I just have this need to be prepared. And acrylics do not really make for easy travel sketching. (I am secretly envious of watercolour artists and that is the one thing that may make me overcome my fear of watercolours.) Acrylics are more of a plonk and paint situation.

We have a summer place, and I have painted there for many years. I started doing the doors, because I didn't want to have plain white or off-white doors. The summer place is more of a place to play. I keep my paints in a small suitcase, because we cannot leave them there in the winter. The heat is turned off, and paints don't take freezing well. It is easy to carry about and then you only need your support and your source of water. The compact rolling table and stools were purchased from Canadian Tire many years ago.

But when that kit is at the cabin,

what to do when you are travelling from home? There is no shortage of supplies at my place. Of the two dark wood French easels, the larger is my daughter's. A gift from a previous employer who appreciated her creative and organizational skills.

My Daughter's Easel

She is away now, so it is included in my supplies, but I have always been hesitant to use it. (Not really mine to dirty up.)

The smaller French easel (open below) is mine. I found it on Kijiji for $25 and quite love it, although I haven't used it much as I paint at my drafting table most often.

The shopping bag contains a paint box easel and wash caddy, towels and gear.

It is what I would take when a friend invited me to come to her paint group. I didn't stay with them, but it was convenient so I've kept it together. Sometimes I visit my neighbour and we paint together. (The plastic chocolate box is my wet palette.)

Then there is the blue bag, which I have put together most recently. It contains the paints, wash can, cup and boards that I intend to use when I get my act together to Plein Air paint. I can grab it and my French easel and I'm ready to go.

The organizer holds basic sets of Golden Open paints, Windsor and Newton Artisan water mixable oils, and some cheap watercolours. All these are things I have been collecting for about a year and I want to try for Plein Air. My last experience with "partial" Plein Air was impeded by the struggle with drying time.

But that is the subject for another post.

I would love to hear about your experience with being "mobile" with acrylics.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page